Stephen Taylor m Tamson Morton 25 April 1807

Stephen Taylor was born 28 February 1785, in Digby, Nova Scotia, the son of James Taylor and Rebecca Smith.  James was a Loyalist who moved to Nova Scotia from Connecticut.  Stephen was a popular family name, as James was son of Stephen born 1708 who was son of Stephen born 1665 who was son of Stephen born about 1639. 

Tamson (Thomasine) Morton was born 2 February 1788 in Wilmot, daughter of Joseph Morton and Eleanor Blood. 

Stephen moved about 1806 to Wilmot in Annapolis County, and on 25 April, 1807 at about age 22, he married 19-year-old Tamson in Wilmot.  Stephen and Tamson’s first child, Ruth, was born 10 May 1808.  The second daughter, Rebecca (probably named for Stephen’s mother) was born 6 December 1809 in Aylesford.  Their third child, Joseph Morton Taylor was born 11 Aug 1811, and was named for Tamson’s father.  So who was Ruth named for?  Ruth later married Jonathan Hodges, and they carried on the family names with children named Rebecca, Stephen Taylor, Tamson.

 Tamson died 30 April 1816 in Wilmot. 

After Tamson died, Stephen age 31 married Sarah Wood age 30, daughter of Daniel, on 28 September 1816.  Sarah was born 24 January 1786, and died 14 February 1827 in Wilmot.  I have no records of children for Sarah.

The 1827 census lists a Stephen Taylor, Baptist, farmer, of Wilmot, 4 males, 3 females, no servants, and 1 birth in the family in the year ending 1 October 1827.  There may have been extended family members in the household, as the numbers for his immediate family do not add up.   

After Sarah died, Stephen, 42, married Sarah’s younger sister Olive, 31, on 14 June 1827.  Olive was born 17 April 1796 and died 1 May 1831, and I have no record of children for Olive.

After Olive died, Steven now 46, married on Sept 1, 1831 to Lavinia Morse age 30.  She was born August 14, 1801, daughter of Obadiah Samuel Morse and Hannah Chute.  Stephen and Lavinia had two children, Obadiah Morse Taylor born 4 September 1832, and Hannah Lavinia Taylor born 8 March 1835 (but died at age 2.)  Again, we see the tradition of handing down names.  Again, we find that Mrs. Stephen Taylor died young, on Oct 19, 1838.

After Lavinia died, Stephen age 56, married Esther Potter age 54, daughter of Joseph Potter and Mary Farnsworth.  Esther was born 16 March 1787, and was the widow of a Mr. Armstrong.  Esther died 26 March 1851.

After Esther’s death, Stephen age 66 married 44-year-old Frances A Gabel, who was born 11 September 1807. Their marriage was recorded in the Wilmot book, and dated 9 Oct 1851.  Frances was from Bridgetown.  A witness to the marriage bond was Ja. M Taylor – perhaps Stephen’s brother. Frances and Stephen had a daughter they named Sarah Fanny Louisa Taylor, born about 1852.  Frances outlived Stephen, and as a widow, later married Silas Bishop. 

I was not able to find Stephen and Fanny in the 1851 census.  There was one Stephen listed in Kings County, but the oldest male in the family was in the 30-40 age range – too young to be this Stephen.   

Stephen was a farmer, and a deacon in the Baptist church.   

Stephen wrote his will on 23 June 1854, and continued to make codicils until just a couple months before he died, on 23 September 1859, in Wilmot.

In the Name of God Amen

I Stephen Taylor of the Township of Wilmot in the County of Annapolis and province of Nova Scotia. Being at the present time by the Grace of God of sound mind, memory and understanding (thanks be unto God for the same) Do make, publish, ordain and declare this to be my last will and Testament in manner and form as follows (viz)

First I will order and direct that all my just debts and Funeral charges by fully paid.

Secondly I give and bequeath to my beloved wife Fanny Taylor during her natural life, while she shall remain my widow and no longer the sum of eighteen pounds, to be paid yearly by my son Obadiah, as follows, Twelve pounds in cash and six pounds in such produce as the aforesaid Fanny Taylor may require at cash price, also the _____  of _____ goods to be properly and sufficiently kept and fed winter and summer by my son Obadiah. He to drive or cause to be driven said cow to and from the pasturage morning and evening. I also give to my aforesaid beloved wife Fanny Taylor the use of my half dwelling House with such portion of my household furniture as shall be necessary and sufficient to furnish it, also the necessary use of a Horse, Carriage, Sleigh, Furs and Harness which I leave in the hands of my son Obadiah for his and her joint use he to keep them or some other equally good in good order for the aforesaid purposes. Also eight cords of good wood to be furnished by my son Obadiah and which he is to cut or cause to be cut up suitable for her fires and piled at her door, also the use of the garden spot now occupied by me.

Provided, nevertheless, should my Beloved wife Fanny Taylor remarry she is to relinquish and give up entirely the afore said dower and all claim from my Estate of every kind whatsoever except one bed and bedding complete which she is to reserve to herself.

Thirdly, I direct and appoint my beloved wife Fanny Taylor to be the guardian of my beloved daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa Taylor and should my wife remarry she shall continue to receive the aforesaid sum of twelve pounds currency. Yearly for the expenses and education of my aforesaid daughter until she shall arrive at the age of eighteen years and no longer, and should my beloved wife Fanny Taylor die before my daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa Taylor and should my said wife remarry she shall continue to receive the aforesaid sum of twelve pounds currency. Yearly for the expenses and education of my aforesaid daughter until she shall arrive at the age of eighteen years and no longer, and should my beloved wife Fanny Taylor die before my daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa shall attain to the age of eighteen years I wish and direct my Executors to use and appropriate the aforesaid sum of twelve pounds currency annually, to the expenses and education of my aforesaid Daughter until she shall arrive at the age of    (18?) years and no longer. I also give and bequeath to my said Daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa, when she attain to the age of eighteen years the sum of twenty—five pounds currency, and one good bed and bedding complete.

I also direct that at the death or remarriage of my beloved wife all the household furniture of which she had the use shall be given to my daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa.

Fourthly, I further direct that at my decease after having furnished the half of my dwelling House for the use of my Beloved wife whatever Household furniture may shall be equally divided between my two daughters Ruth Hodges and Rebecca Foster with the Exception of the bureau and secretary which I give and bequeath to my son Obadiah.

I also give and bequeath to my beloved daughter Ruth Hodges the sum of twenty—five pounds currency.

Fifthly, I give and bequeath to my beloved daughter Rebecca Foster twenty—five pounds currency.

Sixthly, I give and bequeath to my beloved son Joseph Morton Taylor the blacksmith tools now in his possession.

Seventh—To my grandson Peoli Foster the sum of ten pounds currency- the sum being for his services while he was living with me-to be paid him immediately after my death.

Eighthly-I also direct that my son Obadiah do put up a good and respectable tomb stone at my grave-with an appropriate inscription thereon.

I also give and bequeath to my beloved son Obadiah Taylor all the rest residue and remainder of my real estate and personal property of every kind whatsoever and whosoever situate his heirs and assigns forever provided He the said Obadiah shall well and truly perform all the herein before named requisitions and directions of this my last will and testament according to the true intent and meaning of the same.

Should my beloved daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa die before she shall attain to the age of eighteen years, I give and bequeath the share of her so dying to my beloved son Obadiah.

It is also my desire that my beloved wife Fanny Taylor shall enjoy free and unrestricted use of a seat in the pews owned by me at my death in the different places of worship.

Should my son Obadiah fail to perform the requisitions contained in this my last will and testament according to the true intent and meaning of the same. I hereby direct in case of such failure or neglect that my Executrix and Executor shall appropriate such portion of my real or personal property as shall from time to time or sufficient to meet such delinquency or delinquencies.

Be it understood that the twelve pounds to be paid by my son Obadiah to my beloved wife Fanny Taylor in________ will be______ one half from interest on one hundred pounds which Obadiah is to pay for a piece of land in the rear of the lot and the other half from interest on one hundred pound of outstanding debts. Nevertheless should I find it necessary during my life to make use of any or in any way appropriate the sum of one hundred pounds such appropriation shall not be considered as affecting or in way altering requisitions hereinbefore contained.

And I do here constitute and appoint my beloved wife Fanny Taylor, Executrix, and my son Obadiah Taylor and Doctor Jonathan Woodbury both of the Township of Wilmot on the County of Annapolis to be Executors of this my last will and testament.

And I do hereby further will authorize and direct that my Executors Obadiah Taylor and Doctor Jonathan Woodbury their executors or administrators be empowered to carry out my wishes as expressed in this my last will and testament.

Signed sealed published and declared this to be my last will and testament in presence of these three subscribing witnesses who in my presence and in the presence of each other have each subscribed his name on this the twenty-third day of June in the

Written before signing:

___________________________Morton

_________________________ Morton

Jonathan G. Woodbury

I hereby order and direct that my beloved wife Fanny Taylor shall have occupy and make free use of the east half of the lower flat of my dwelling House with choice bedroom in the chamber and sufficient privileges in the cellar with a sufficient garden spot on the east side of the said dwelling House unless some other garden spot be mutually agreed on by my said wife and my son Obadiah – all which aforesaid privileges she is to enjoy during her natural life and that this be considered a codicil as more particularly explanatory to my will.

Signed this 24 day of May in the year of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and fifty-five.

Adelia C. Randall

Johnathan Woodbury Stephen Taylor

I furthermore direct that my son Obadiah shall will and sufficiently keep, free of charge, three good sheep for the exclusive use and benefit of my beloved wife Fanny Taylor during her life proceeds of which to be used and appropriated by her from time to time as she may think proper.

I also direct that my said wife shall have full and free access to the orchard and fruit of every kind in such quantity____ at such times as shall be necessary for her own use free of_____ directly of indirectly.

and that this also be considered a codicil to my will.

Signed this 12th day of April 1858A.D.

Witness: Jonathan Woodbury Mary E. Woodbury

Stephen Taylor

Further order and direct that my beloved son Obadiah will pay to my beloved wife Fanny Taylor the herein before named of twelve pounds yearly in quarterly installment that is to _______ within three months one fourth in six month one fourth in twelve months of directly or indirectly and that this also be codicil to my will.

Signed this 12th day of April 1858 A.D.

Witness: Jonathan Woodbury

Mary E. Woodbury      Stephen Taylor

I furthermore order & direct that my beloved son Obediah shall pay to my beloved wife Fanny Taylor the herein_______ sum of twelve pounds yearly in quarterly installment that is one fourth in three months one fourth in six months one fourth in nine months and the remaining fourth in twelve months of each and every year. and I further direct that in case of the death or marriage of my beloved wife, Fanny Taylor, that my beloved daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa, shall after having attained the age of eighteen years be paid by my son Obediah Taylor the sum of six pounds_________ yearly and every year until her marriage or death whichever she happen and no longer the said six pounds to be in addition to the __________before directed?

I also direct that my aforesaid beloved wife Fanny Taylor and my beloved daughter Sarah Fanny Louisa shall enjoy the free use of my pews on the different places of worship whenever—and seats therein for there transcient friends as they may acquire and that this also be considered a codicil to my will.

Signed this eleventh day of July 1859 A.D.

Witness: Mary E. Woodbury

Jonathan Woodbury   Stephen Taylor

Stephen’s passing was reported in the Christian Messenger, Wednesday, Nov 23, 1859: 23 Sept at Wilmot NS Stephen Taylor – born in Digby in 1795, Mar 6 times:  1. dau of Deacon Morton; 2 dau of Mrs. Wood of Cornwallis; 3 sis of second wife;  4 Lavinia daughter of Obadiah Morse of Nictaux; 5.  Mrs. Armstrong, widow, of Wolfville; 6 Fanny, d/o the late John Gable of New Brunswick.  By first, 1 son 2 dau; by 4th 1 so 1 dau; by last 1 dau.  Buried in Nictaux.

Note that the will instructed son Obadiah to erect a suitable headstone for his father.  Both Nictaux and Nictaux Falls cemeteries are indexed, but I could not find Stephen Taylor nor any of his widows.

2 Comments

  1. F. Hudson Miller said,

    July 6, 2012 at 17:48

    6 wives, 5 who died, might make one wonder! Obadiah was my Great Great Grandfather. Do you know the story of Obadiah being shipwrecked with Nathan Parker, who became his future father-in-law when he married Love Marchant Parker?

  2. August 28, 2017 at 04:02

    Excellent blog. What a story for this family, thank you for sharing the research!


Leave a Reply

